By Omar D. Chavez

Star Date: January 18, 2011. Yesterday, we celebrate Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.. I take it as a sign on what to base my first article on.
“Obama only won cause he’s black!”. These are the words I’ve heard for the past 2 years. I was always embarrassed of these words, mostly because I heard them from people I know. “Really?”, I thought. It was a phrase that made African Americans seem like they just arrived on the main land, and people were so taken by this new color, that they elected one President; as if he were some circus attraction that was put in the center ring for all to see. It would offend me. It saddened me…until now.
I would always reply to those words with, ” Ummm…I didn’t vote for him because he’s black. I don’t give a shit that he’s black. I voted for him because he doesn’t seem to be a complete idiot, like some other former Presidents that shall remain nameless.” People would roll their eyes, as if I was trying to seem more “open minded” than they were…and I was. But that’s besides the point.
As of late, I’ve realized I was wrong. I did vote for him because he was black. I’d do it again in a heartbeat. The phrase shouldn’t be, “Obama only won cause he’s black!”; it should be, “43 Presidents before Obama won because they were white!”.
You see, I voted for Obama because he symbolized a change that the world has been waiting for. Not “Change we can believe in”, but a social evolution that had been held back again and again, like clipping the wings off a bird. There are still people in this world that carry the residue of bitterness from the transition of Civil Rights. A lot of older generations harbor this racism, whether they admit it or not. Not all, but enough to hold back the advancement of equality. But being racist doesn’t make you a bad human being. The people I’m talking about were just a product of their environment. They grew up as children believing the traditional ignorance their fathers harbored was right. But it wasn’t. If they can accept that without being insulted, then that’s a step in the right direction.
Many racist people will get angry at these descriptions and accusation. They’ll begin to shout, and claim their being attacked and that their freedoms are being threatened in their own country. But to be truly “attacked” and have your freedoms threatened is to have chains shackled to your wrists and ankles, be whipped and beaten, have separate eating quarters and restrooms, and be paid nothing or next to nothing. Sound familiar? This is not an attack, trust me, you would know if it was. This is simply an observation that can be backed up with actual proof that racist people have provided themselves.
Obama only won cause he was black….and proved to all who claimed that a black man was only 3/5 of a human being, that they were completely wrong. To some, accepting this reality would shatter their existence. They believe in their superiority so wholeheartedly that they find it impossible to change, and that’s fine. You see, the other alternative to a more perfect union, is to wait for those minds to die off. It’s a double edge sword, for some of those people are our fathers and mothers, grandfathers and grandmothers. As human beings we love them dearly. As obstacles towards a better tomorrow, they need to move on.
One thing our elders have always said is that they’re leaving this world so that their children can have more opportunity than they had. My how the children have grown; and where you failed, we will succeed…but thank you for doing your best…

Sincerely,
The Good Doctor

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

3 comments

  1. I love this its so true! The man didn’t win because he is black. The fact that he is black may have caused people to be intrested in what he had to say, but its what he stood for that had him elected.

    Like

Leave a Reply

