First film at the University of Miami

Hale! Down to the Reel by Jordan Hale

Not everyone wants to hear this, but movies are about emotion, not entertainment. “But it’s called the ‘entertainment industry’! Grrr!” Just hear me out. Paramount and Warner Bros. can distract you all they want with their glitz and glam (and we do love it), but when you strip it down, every single film is about watching a fellow human being experience something, and the wide range of emotion/excitement that accompanies it.

The more I study film, the more I realize that I love it so much because I crave the experience of reaching someone, connecting with them on a basic level, making them feel something and, perhaps most importantly, putting them in a position where they empathize and enjoy doing so. Not everyone is in the habit of putting themselves in someone else’s shoes, because naturally we are primarily focused on ourselves. Watching a film evokes the pleasure and the inspiration that goes along with witnessing a work of art, but it also makes a connection: the kind of unbreakable link that is established with another person by watching them carefully, and subsequently feeling what they are feeling.

a west coast sundown

The most subliminal way this is accomplished is through the score, those perfectly subtle music cues, giving you the heads up as the mood is changing, developing, unfolding. But most importantly, music is what keeps us immersed in the world of the film. In addition to complimenting the action, it keeps your thoughts from wandering away from what’s taking place on screen, strengthening the emotional response to whatever is happening in the story. Now, if there’s one thing in this world I love even more than connecting with people, it’s music. It literally completes me, and I’ve been singing since I could speak (which was pretty early….yikes). My little brother used to call me “la-la” when he was learning how to talk, because he didn’t know much about me yet except that I sang all the time. I wish I were kidding. Anyway, I think music is fascinating in that it can get a response out of anyone, and I mean anyone: people with mental disabilities, newborns, plants…you name it. Movies and music go hand in hand because music and human emotion go hand in hand.

trust me full access when you read this!

My journey to L.A. is about me exploring my love of understanding people through these creative expressions. I could have studied psychology in school, and still might someday, but I figure exploring the same topics through such a dynamic industry is an opportunity I couldn’t pass up, and I am exceedingly grateful and excited every day to see how it unfolds.

Join Us. Follow Us as we explore the dynamics and the mundane of an industry filled with stars, dreams, and the occasional night Terrors.

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

