by Stephen Freeman

I’ve had a few weeks to write this intro. Technically, I already wrote it and THIS isn’t it. Let me just say, if there was a crumble-up-paper button on my screen I would have taken some pleasure in clicking it. I entertained the idea of deleting it all-together, but what I realized, as I read and re-read it, was that I have too much to say; too much too soon. And rather than babble away about health and fitness, my adventures in travel, and my perspective on life, I have decided to keep it simple. KISS (keep it simple stupid) is my favorite principle, after all. I’m feeling very enthusiastic and very much look forward to telling my stories and how each one of them taught me something new about myself and how they opened my eyes to the world we live in.

I have traveled as much as my time, money, and my responsibilities would allow me. Backpacking through Mexico, Central and South America for 6 months was a truly remarkable experience. Some of my more noteworthy adventures consist of backpacking in Europe and sailing the Caribbean for several months where we lived off the sea.

During my pursuit for a higher education, I found that my passion for health and fitness truly became a life of its own when I became a Certified Personal Trainer. In my profession, we really are fighting a war! This is a war being fought to save the lives of our fellow man and maybe even to save you.

“Who and what are we fighting against?” Here it goes. The Who: Ourselves and Our Choices, The Food Industry, Our Overly-Convenient and Stagnant Lifestyles. The What: Diabetes, Heart Attack, Stroke, Obesity, Cancer, Depression, Immobility, and over-all quality of life.

So this is why, over my own life experience and four years as a Personal Trainer, I have come to realize that this “war” can’t be fought with the perspective of a Personal Trainer alone, nor can it be fought with the vast information that is learned in the study of Biology. No. What I have learned through the careful observation and analysis of my own clients, friends, family, myself, and the people in the many countries I’ve had the privilege to interact with is that “Health and Fitness” is actually a complex web of not only science and exercise, but of culture, opinion, psychology, and social acceptance and pressures.  So, my friends, I will continue to write and post all of my thoughts on this blog in the hope that I may reach out to someone and offer a helping hand, some words of motivation, or just some genuine advice.

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

