by Ellen Perez

Since I was a kid, I loved the outdoors!  I have always been a lover of nature, adventure, fitness, and health, especially since I have seen the huge role it has in mine and others’ lives.  I’m someone who wants to try it all…from ballet to mountain biking, I’ve never been afraid to try anything new!  I have a passion to experience life to its fullest which is why I so believe in taking care of my body, as well as my mind and soul since I don’t plan on leaving this earth anytime soon.

Whether it be through weight training, jogging, bicycling, dancing, or hiking, I believe fitness should be a fun and invigorating experience, tailored to each individual.  It is far from boring, and when you see it, it can open the door to new possibilities and an advancement of lifestyle that will change your life!  See, I can spit out scary statistics of obesity rates and deaths due to health related disease in America, but who hasn’t already heard that?  Its so simple.  It starts with realizing there’s a need for change…and moving towards that change.  Our bodies were created to move and expel energy.  Its that simple.  JUST GET MOVING!

I know for some people it may be hard to start a new regimen.  This is why I am letting you in on the things that I do, in order to give you some ideas.

Lately, my own regimen has been jogging to a nearby park and doing some functional and light plyometric drills.  I have some bands that I take with me so that I can use to add resistance to some of my exercises.  After jogging home, I get on the floor and work on my flexibility, which is not my forte.  I tend to want to work on things that I am not good at…this definitely being one of them!  As you get older, age works against your joints and muscles.  Joints get stiff and muscles get tight. This is partly why you’ll see an older person hunched over.  For them, it started with poor posture(weakening of upper back muscles) which created the tightening of their abdominal muscles.  At that age it is nearly impossible to straighten back up.  The damage is done.  For this and many other reasons, it is key to keep yourself limbered up!  The benefits are very well known and documented which  is why Yoga and Pilates have gained so much popularity in the past 20 years.  Of course I am in neither of these, but my own bed and floor are just fine…plus, they’re free!

Working with one of the top wellness companies in the nation as well as working alongside the most amazing Doctors and Physical Therapists in their fields, I have learned, trained, rehabilitated, and have been able to educate and help people reach some amazing goals. This has to be the most fulfilling part of my job!  I’m learning everyday and hope that I can pass on what I have learned in order to connect and inspire a zest for living this amazing life!  I look forward to sharing this mind, body, and soul journey.  Every day is an adventure to be lived and experienced.

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

