By Chace Saumell

First of all I feel as though I should answer the 3 most popular questions I get asked about myself.

1. Yes, my name really is Chace. It’s pronounced Chase. I am not related to JP Morgan and no it is not short for anything. I don’t know why my father named me that. He just did and I like it.

2. I am a female. Most people think I am a male because my name is usually a male name.

At least I hope that’s why they assume that.

3. Despite what you have heard about me. I am not a super hero.

I am a woman. A single mother. An aspiring MMA fighter. A health and fitness buff (not a gym rat).

I like to think I am a good mix of femininity without the fear of making my way in a man’s world.

I am like every other woman.

I struggle with body image issues.

I struggle with the balance of work and kids and their goals and lives and trying to achieve mine.

I struggle with finding love.

I struggle with the fear of the unknown.

I struggle with my failures and often overlook my triumphs.

I constantly worry that I am not being the best I can be as a mother, as a woman, as a Christian, and as a productive member of society.

I overdo things.

I get burned out.

I am human. And I loathe it; because in my mind, I should be a machine, not a flawed, imperfect, limited vessel.

But I have learned a lot about myself along the way.

I have learned there is beauty in being human and embracing your flaws and limits and learning to operate within them and eventually exceed what you ever thought was possible.

There is beauty and life in picking yourself up when you fall down only to start running towards your goals again and again. (That’s right. You will fall down again and again.)

Yeah so what! I FIGHT like a GRRL!

There is even beauty in showing the world that you are human. Letting your weaknesses be known and admitting your flaws. And there is so much triumph when you are given the grace and wisdom to overcome those things that have held you back.

Writing has given me an outlet to express those lessons and hopefully help a few people on their journey.

I am honored to be able to write for Sundown United and to be a part of their mission to lift people up.

Peace and Love,

Chace

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

