Sailing back home after a journey through the Bahamas.

By: Stephen Freeman

Today I want to talk about your fitness goals. Do you currently have a goal or have you been giving it any thought since reading my last article? Or have you had a goal for a long time, but stopped moving towards it from a lack of results and motivation? I find it somewhat difficult to sit here and generalize away when I know that every person reading this has a very unique story and therefore, very different goals. I am a “PERSONAL” Trainer after-all. For the sake of moving forward and not leaving anyone out, keep in mind that not everything I say may apply to you, so bare with me.

Now, about your goals: stop reading this and take a few seconds to reflect on what you are trying to achieve in life (in a fitness standpoint).

Done?

Good. Now, as I tell my clients, there are going to be moments when you aren’t going to like me. And here comes one of them. Before I begin telling you about what you should and shouldn’t be eating and what exercises and routines would help you achieve your goals we must first confront the most important step. I am here to act as your mirror.  I am here to call you out. Nobody knows you’re reading this so I want you to be brutally honest with yourself. Take a moment and picture yourself and how you would appear physically if you could obtain these goals we’ve been discussing. How would you being physically fit, in your own eyes, make you feel?

A good life is your responsiblity to all

I can only assume, but for most of us, the idea in itself is exciting and even invigorating. For others this idea also carries with it a feeling of defeat, frustration, and disappointment. The thought of where you COULD be right now serves as a reminder that you’re in fact NOT there.

Okay. Now comes the part where you have to be honest. Who and/or what is to blame for your failure to achieve this goal, seriously? A lot of things come to mind, huh? It’s just our natural human instinct to always justify our actions with “really good reasons” that even we believe ourselves. But as we all know, there is a solution for just about any problem these days. We of course read and hear only what we choose.

Let’s face it, my friends, 99% of us are responsible for our own current state of fitness. It’s true, and deep down inside, you know that there was always an alternative to your reason for giving up. I’ve seen some incredible people, far worse off than most of us, achieve some pretty amazing feats. These people have regained control of their lives. They are living happier and healthier lives.

Are YOU In?

So, now, my question to you; why not be one of those people? If you haven’t achieved your goals and aren’t on the road to doing it then, NOW is the time! I’m going to help you get there! Now, the question is, “Are you All-In”?

 

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

