By Ellen Perez Brantley

The Bar Method is an exercise format that combines the muscle-shaping principles of isometrics, the body-elongating practice of dance conditioning, the science of physical therapy and the intense pace of interval training.  Burr Leonard, the founder,  opened the first studio in 2000 and it has quickly gained popularity in the larger cities like New York City, LA, and Chicago.  I have been lucky to have the opportunity to train in becoming a instructor and have been fully enjoying the benefits TBM has to offer.

As an instructor, this method requires intense training by spending hours studying the anatomy and techniques of TBM.  Spending an incredibly intense week in Santa Barbara, CA, I was able to see first hand why the Bar Method was one of a kind.  Those of you that have read my blogs already know that I try everything,…and this has immediately become one of my favs!  I wouldn’t have chosen to teach it, if it wasn’t!!!  Whats awesome is that I have already seen the changes in my own body by doing it 2-3 times a week.

I’ve noticed my muscles beginning to form a longer leaner shape, and small aches or pains I might have gotten due to my inflexibility, have disappeared due to the constant stretching that TBM incorporates.  I am in love with it because it’s hardcore but a safe and super effective full body workout since its easy on the joints but intense in sculpting!  Bodybuilders and many gym goers, tend to work on obvious muscles that are seen in the mirror.  For example, biceps, deltoids, abs, etc.

Many forget that those are not the only muscles that give us a sculpted look or benefit us during our daily functional activities.  Since The Bar Method is mixed with Physical Therapy techniques, it helps to create an overall more efficiently working, balanced body.

Im so excited to be a part of bringing it to Winter Park, FL!  If your lucky to have it in your city I encourage you to take just one class to try it out.  I know you’ll be hooked!  If its not in your city…stay tuned, it might just be in the works for the near future!

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

