Photography by: Jenny Brower Model: Ellen @ deep ellum downtown dallas. that day we were just trying to figure out the style with so many different t-shirts. but this pic came out great! thanks Jenny!

by J.Sundown and Sundown United

Today I wanted to continue writing about my journey of the 1703 T and give you some facts about this epic relic limited T.

The summer of 2006 was a good time. Gaston and Haskell Starbucks just opened and I was a shift supervisor who loved making messes, it was the glory of making a perfect coffee beverage and the opportunity to make everything messy around you, it was kind of like making art. I loved it. I was making T’s for my fellow coffee-slingers and my faithful customers at Starbucks on my off days. On a lazy Sunday, Kirk and I were judging how long which one of our lemon pound cakes we threw to the ceiling roof of the store would stick the longest. As we waited he told me he would like to make a sculpture of my sundown lion. I told him heck ya!

c.kirk art piece of the sundown lion, for creative inspiration. And yes that is me standing next to it....i am a small bear.

He built it in two weeks. This sculpture allowed me to remember my dreams to make awesome T’s as it stood in my room. I loved Kirk’s interpretation of Sundown. It allowed me to think really hard what I wanted to do with Sundown on an artistic level. I wanted to customize each and every one of them, making each one a work of art. The T’s would be limited. I know it’s not a new concept but it’s what keeps me inspired to do different things through Sundown United, from our Sundown United contributing writers describing everyday American life, to our limited apparel. It Keeps Sundown United unique.

*Why is the T shirt call 1703? It’s the established date we created the company. The 17th day and the 3rd month of the year, March.

*Patrick Bailey (Sundown UNA’s CFO) and I were working for Paciugo Gelato Italian ice Cream and Café. We had just come back from giving out small cones of Italian ice cream for a charity event for St. Jude’s hospital in Dallas, TX. We sat in the back of the production room chopping on my favorite flavor, chocolate – chocolate swirl. We brainstormed on how we would do it and what would it be called! I am glad we waited, I don’t think we were mature enough to start a small business at the time, we would have messed it up from the get go.. until tomorrow I will conclude  “What is the 1703 T?” story.  Be well.

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

