By Ellen Perez Brantley

There are so many ways to get involved in your community and meet new people,…no excuses.  One thing my husband Bennie and I got involved in was intramural sports.  We decided to join a coed flag football league, mind you, I’ve never done flag football before!  Bennie though has played in leagues throughout his life and has a pretty amazing history of victories with his ex team.  So, thank goodness, he was able to show me the ropes!

We usually have  two practices a week as a team, were we do drills, go over plays, discuss last game, oh…and laugh and joke.

I know for me though, its great just getting out on the field, competing, and meeting with my new friends.  We haven’t had the best season, being that we are one of the newer teams on the league, but we have beaten the 2nd best team (an all Asian team that wears bright yellow T’s that say “Yellow Fever” on them!).  They’re a cool bunch but I can say that we enjoyed slaughtering them last week, especially after our losses and major drama that went down ( that’s another story!).  We’ll see what happens next week during playoffs.

However the season ends, whether we win or lose in playoffs, at least I can say that I’ve had fun, tried my best, and have new friends to take away from the experience.  Which makes me think about the next season….hmmm, what should it be next, kickball? ultimate frisbee? sand volleyball?  I’ll get back with you and let you know,…or you can let me know what you think?

There are leagues across the nation. Check your local YMCA sites, sports social clubs, alumni clubs, or your community boards online.

So Ladies get out there,you will enjoy yourself getting involved in great team building, quality time with your significant other and friends. You will have amazing workout.

Bueno La Sol.

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

