Books or Angry Birds?...

By Sharleen Daubé

I made it a point to never make my gaming addiction apparent to anyone, other than those few online gaming buddies from Argentina or Krygyzstan who I would never meet in person. The fact was that I was an English major armed with heavy and old books; and my books were my identity. I was the girl to be found warmly cooped up with a book for hours on end and would stick my nose up to any talk of wasteful video games or traitorous e-books. But the pages of my books were wrapping me in a beautiful facade.

Unbeknownst to everyone, I didn’t shut myself indoors for days straight to indulge in literature. Rather, I was glued shut to a dirty spot two feet away from my television screen playing video games until my contact lenses couldn’t be peeled away from my eyeballs.

First it was a silly obsession of translating the people and relationships of my life to Sims. Then it was Katamari, the Japanese game of rolling random, everyday Japanese objects into a giant ball to satisfy a king larger than the universe. Soon after, my inner 7-year old was transfixed with Kingdom Hearts and seeing my favorite childhood characters being brought to life. The battle of good vs. evil had never been more convincing than fighting side by side to Goofy and Donald Duck. My habit got especially gruesome when I discovered free Playstation 3 demos. Free time? Yeah right! Video games became an absolute obligation.

The morale of the story is. Pigs suck! photo by John Cunningham photography

When I started developing Carpel Tunnel Syndrome in my right hand, health once again became a priority and I achingly pulled myself away from my dearly beloved games. Recently, I  acquired my very first Android phone and finally became acquainted with the world of apps. Angry Birds awakened the compulsive gamer in me momentarily, actually for the first week, but things have settled back into a calm. In fact, my droid has been supportive of healthier habits, like apps that track my caloric intake or how much water I am drinking a day. When I had trouble sleeping, I reluctantly looked up sleep apps, not really imagining there would be a market for them. Surprise, surprise, there seemed hundreds. I fell asleep to the sound of light bell chimes and sheets of rain. It’s remarkable what these apps have to offer. It’s even more remarkable that some of the most innovative are free.

Here at Sundown United, I am here to journey through the world of apps with you as my good company. I can say with assurance that I am no tech wiz, but I do have the enthusiasm and interest to make this a promising journey!

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

