By Omar Chavez

Most American citizens are lazy. I’ll say it again. Most American citizens are lazy. Now I’ll say this; “Most” is not the same thing as “All”. If you work all day come home to your children or wife, or both, or none; but you’ve honestly wholeheartedly labored at the job you were given and make as much progress as you can at the tasks you were assigned, then this article is not about you. It’s about me. It’s about most of the people I know. But NOT ALL of the people I know.

I just turned 30, and I had a revelation. I realized a sense of accomplishment is important. I found coming home tired, smelly, and stressed feels better than coming home clean, jovial, and lazy.  I’ll admit I’m still new to this revelation even as I write this article. There are people out there willing to work any job at any length for any amount of money. Most Americans have the nerve to do only enough “work” not to get them fired…and that’s shitty.  I recognized I was an individual version of an insurance or oil company who rapes the people every day with their high prices and minimum standards.

Being an American means contributing to your fellow Americans. It means walking the walk, not just talking the talk. When we say this is the greatest country in the world; what does that mean? It means effort. It means self esteem. It means trying to improve a small part of what we always complain no one ever improves…We’ve been complaining about ourselves. We’re spoiled.

Once I saw a homeless man in New York City listening to his IPod. Our poor have IPods! And our rich no longer hirer us, they are only greedy men who outsource. And MOST, not ALL, of our middle class are complacent with their low standards and fast food; myself included. A lot not all, of our “poor” are milking the system. And the people left over…those rare noble CITIZENS actually work, and contribute, and finally pass away with true dignity, because they gave a shit when they didn’t have to. They are True Americans. Everyone else is a hack. Democrat, Republican, Conservative, Liberal; these are not labels a true American Human Being cares to be a part of. In fact, those kinds of labels are silly at best. They hold us back.

Most American Citizens are lazy…but they…WE… are still Americans…and Americans are notorious for changing the world. Our history is filled with awesome mother fuckers who rocked the Kasbah and changed the world…because one day, they decided for no particular reason that normal life thrived too much on the lowest common denominator…and they realized maybe too many people got used to being lazy, and they decided to change.

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

4 comments

  1. Well said Omar. By sheer coincidence, I think I may have wrote the sequel to your blog. You describe a very real issue: apathy. I’m going to take a first stab at solving it. I think there is no one solution, short of a national or global crisis, like war amongst superpowers. However, we have to start somewhere less we be overwhelmed by the magnitude of the challenge.

    Like

  2. WOW…. What can I say Omar? That is a descriptive account of MOST americans… NOt ALL, but MOST. You hit the nail right on the head. YOu said it Clearly. Great article.

    Like

Leave a Reply

