By Gina Garcia

Introducing me.

I am a student, an aspiring librarian, and a photographer.  I love organizing, editing (text and photos), but most of all I love capturing life with my Canon.  I am highly obsessed with lights, light bulbs, and traffic lights.  Call me crazy but I love what I do.

SPOTIFYING COLORS

It is easy to associate colors with mood but associating colors with music is a bit difficult than one assumes. When I signed up for my Spotify account I did it for the sake of listening to music: Music that I enjoy.  Spotify meant organization.  I did not want to organize my content based on similar artists or similar sounds because it is too easy.  Instead I organized my music based on a dominant color a sound projects, and when that failed I organized my music on a color that best describes my music compilation.

Some of my playlists titles are: White, Sapphire Blue, Tangerine Orange, Ruby Red, Magenta, and Sea Foam Green.

White consists of instrumentals typically found in movie scores or music that is soothing to the soul.  Artists on the playlist include: Phillip Glass, Michael Andrews, Hans Zimmer, Yann Tierson, and Paul Cardall, Helen Jane Long, and Michael Nyman.

It is always the battle between blue and red, at least with my experience.  Most of my friends love blue or red.  I personally love red but when I think of the color blue I see no other than Sonic the Hedgehog.  Sonic is fast-paced and a champ therefore the sounds of Sapphire Blue includes upbeat music that gets my heartbeat pumping.  Chemical Brothers and Daft Punk are the artists that best animate this crazy color.

Since red is my favorite color I have a few songs that bring my spirits up and make me feel right at home.  David Bowie, The Doors, and Paul McCarthy never fail to make me a happy camper.

I am Hispanic and I do not lie when I say I love listening to some Spanish music, especially sounds from Mexico.  Due to their exotic and vibrant sounds, Tangerine Orange best describes the music found in this playlist.

Magenta is not red but because it is close to my favorite color I have music that I love hearing during a long drive with friends.  The sounds are fun to sing along and exciting to share with others.  Yes, Justin Timberlake, Gorillas, Kayne West, Blue October, and Gnarls Barkley are all found in here.

John Gourley Lead singer of Portugal. The man.

Since I have many playlists left I will focus on one more and that is Sea Foam Green.  This playlist I turn to when I am focused on work and want to only listen to the sounds that make me feel like I can accomplish anything.  Why the color? Well it’s very specific, meaning not everyone thinks about Sea Foam Green when they want to identify themselves with a color.  The color makes me feel unique and proud of what I do and who I am.  Artist found in the playlist include: Pinback, Mellowdrone, Coldplay, Judah Johnson, Young Galaxy, and Guster.

Of course I have not assigned all of my playlists with a color but I try my best to do so when I can, and I love Portugal. The Man so much that I named my playlist Because I ❤ Portugal and it fits (their entire discography is in the playlist), but that is beside the point.

Portugal. The Man – “Colors” (acoustic)  live in Chicago. of their 2008 record “Censored Colors”.

Portugal. The Man, Live in Austin @ Stubbs

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

