By Gina Garcia & The United

Artist: Ludus Studios/Dream.Work.Conquer Films

Next Down Performance: Around Dallas or in their Studio in the heart of the Design District in Dallas.

Ludus Studios exhibits professional quality music videos.  Artists need only to view one Ludus video to know that they are in the right place with the perfect production team.  Ludus interest in music is genuine: Audiences do not have to visualize the perfect video for the music in play because Ludus sets the mood, the creative tones, colors, and visuals to compliment an outstanding high quality sound.

What to expect from Ludus Studios:

  • High quality camera work.  The videos illustrate sharp vivid colors that animate the video sequence.
  • High depth-of-field range cameras capture the location in shot with great detail and emphasize the focus of the artists vs. their surroundings.
  • Wide lenses attribute to dramatic angles
  • Scene transitions are subtle and do not lose focus on the performing artists.

Ludus Studios understands that music videos should be performance based.  This allows audiences to enjoy their favorite artists on a personal level…“Feel the music,” “Experience the music,” and not yearn but actively seek means to watch the artists featured by Ludus Studios live.

Here are a couple of samples.

Vicious Cycle is filled with energy, love, and passion.  Ludus captures all of Vicious Cycle’s features with dramatic angles, emphasizing both of the artist’s lyrics.  The hip-hop duo is best represented in a vivid urban landscape, which is realistic and symbolic to the nature of the duo’s lyrical style.

Personally I do not listen to MGMT but after watching Abraham Mellish’s MGMT “Kids” cover, a Ludus Studio production, I am highly interested in the artist’s work.  Abraham’s voice is beautiful, accompanied with great guitar work. Thanks to Ludus I now am acquainted with Abraham’s passion for music.  Ludus’s display of Abraham’s video is outstanding, making sure that Abraham’s singing flair is in focus.

SDU: Two questions. First question. What is your music motivation?

Shane@Ludus: I am quite the music lover. Recently I’ve been listening to a lot of Minus the Bear, Yelawolf, Tycho, the Mercury Program, Umphrey’s Mcgee, and Propagadhi. The usual good music.

Esme@Ludus: Music that motivates me to be creative are the great Gods of Rock: Led Zeppelin, Guns n’ Roses, Jimmy Hendrix, David Bowie, Metallica. MJ & I have to say the greatest band in the world…Tenacious D! To escape & remind myself that life doesn’t have to be complicated. I listen to Tibetan Mantra. Life’s never really that tough. As they have no personal freedom or even a country anymore, to call home!

Jeff@Ludus: dubstep, rock, hip hop- shit has to have POP!

Dave@Ludus: I receive motivation from several genre’s and artists.  Electronic Techno is my favorite.  Makes driving in Dallas more like a video game, plus its a blast to build graphics or edit video to that beat!     I also enjoy running FOH (Front of House) sound for the band “A Moments Notice”.  These guys are some great friends, who just happen to be bad ass musicians.  It allows me to go back to roots of quality production, make the mix as good as it should be on any video we produce… but in real time.

Michael@Ludus: My music motivation comes from many angles, being of Puerto Rican decent I love to jam Latin music; however I also get down to Hip Hop, Rock, dub…. I love it all.  Back in the day I was a DJ and rocked many o party, I also have a background in audio engineering.  I decided back when I was 19 to be the best at audio I could possibly be, that way when I get into film making the audio would be a breeze… after all audio can be 75% of a film.

SDU: Best Music Movie Theme?

Dave@Ludus: Indiana Jones… Get that stuck in your head and you feel like you can do anything!!! (you’re singing right now, aren’t you?)

Jeff@Ludus: clock work orange. sucker punch. fight club. requiem for a dream.

Esme@Ludus: STAR WARS!! WOW there are soooooo many great movie theme songs you get stuck in your head: The Lost Boys, Indiana Jones, Ghost Busters, Little Shop of Horrors, BeetleJuice….however I think most of what I am thinking is the soundtrack & score, that are just as important in filmmaking as the acting & story. Everything works together!

Shane@Ludus: There are so many. I love the Pan’s Labyrinth, and Moon soundtracks the most. I listen to them on a regular basis. Clint Mansell is a genius, if you are unfamiliar with that name, your head will explode when you research what he has done.

Michael@Ludus: The theme from Requiem for a dream by Clint Mansell is amazing, but I also love the Star Wars Imperial March Lucas, and Williams so I’ll just leave it at a tie… deal with it.

SDU: OK I will deal you Clint Mansell’s Requiem for a dream for Clint Mansell’s “Death is the road to awe” from The Fountain Soundtrack and Dead Reckoning of The Smokin Aces Soundtrack. I’m with you, I love Clint Mansell and Hans Zimmer is a close second. Interview To Be Contiuned…. 


Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

