By Gina Garcia

Year 2011 started with a bang, I got engaged to the man I love.  He is the one person who has motivated me to do anything and everything that I love. Without him, I wouldn’t have had the courage to enroll in graduate school, discover my artistic abilities in photography.

I remember early in the spring of 2010 I had a discussion with my fiancé about graduate school.  Sure I was a bit afraid, a bit intimidated about graduate school, but after much thought I realized that it was something that I had to do in order to become a librarian; I knew mid undergrad studies that I wanted to be a part of the library science field even though it meant going back to school to receive a master’s degree.  Now, I am a full year and a half into my library science studies and I cannot express in words how amazing it feels to know that I am doing one of the best things in my life to expand my future possibilities.

Not only have I learned plenty at UNT but I received an opportunity to intern at FDR Presidential Library and further my knowledge in library science, particularly with archiving. Now I am ready to pack my bags and begin another adventure interning at the Library of Congress.  I know that it was my late nights studying class material, my determination to receive As  that got me where I am right now but I could not have done it without the love and motivation from Tony, my fiancé.

Now, let us not forget that the holidays are slowly approaching as the year begins to cease.   Holidays are fun:  They are the perfect time for families to reunite and share their love for one another.  Thankfully this entire year felt like an elongated holiday.  I spent more time with my immediate family this year than I have in the past five years that I have lived on my own, it is unfortunate but again, I am grateful I got the opportunity to flourish my relationship with my parents, brother, and sister.   I am proud to say that both my brother and sister are my best friends, and know that I can count on them for anything.  I know that I am that person for them as well and it feels great to have others love you and care about you for who you are.

If there is anything I learned this year is that if you have any talent or determination to change your life for the better, to do it! Take advantage of all the good things life throws at you because you might miss out on the best opportunity of your life.

Thank you Tony for always being there for me.
Thank you Phil, Vicky, Mom, and Dad for believing in me.

Thank you Sundown United for giving me the opportunity to express my talents and feelings in writing.
Happy Holidays

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

