United

By Sundown & United

Since I pretty much worked on Sundown United all Holiday long I decided to head back to Dallas for a small winter break, before we launch our 1st series of indie tees called “Year One”. I came back to Dallas to see what is trending and what’s on the hustle when it comes to art, design, and creative ideas. First, I met with my Death Star and 2nd in command Chace Saumell (Writing Contributor) out in Frisco. We began plans on SDU marketing and research in the surrounding area, as I discovered the wonders of some great Mediterranean food.

Also I came back to get some advice from my friends Kyle (SDU contributor) illustrator and designer, you can check out a lot of his work in the Dallas Observer and my other good friend Kirk Smith (well-known international artist) who goes by C.Kirk Art.

They have both been a big influence with SDU. Kyle and Kirk have both interpreted the sundown fire-lion in their own artistic right. Kyle’s art and concepts can be seen in on the United Tee which has been our launching pad to the world of all things indie tees and limited design. Then there is influences of Kirk’s art which you will see in our new Sundown United Tees come out soon.

love. music.

So as the rest of the crew at SDU works on articles about ART+LIFE, in which we have a new contributor in Antonio V. Hall. Antonio, reporting on music hitting the streets called “Element Ears to the Street – Indie Music & Fresh Beats”.  Some of us have been working on more designs for the “Year One” series of tees in the coming weeks.

But Meeting up with both of these talented artists, I thought it would be a great idea to just take a few days to pick their brains. I met with Kirk over some English tea watching Discovery channels “when dinosaurs roam the earth” with kirk’s 2year old son Luke. We later had the chance to look at some of his up and coming pieces for 2012 series. Later I got the call from Kyle to meet up and chow down on some delicious pizza at Serious Pizza in Deep Ellum. Kyle and I are both addicted to pizza.

love. design. pizza.

We usually mean to talk about art design but usually the conversations end up with us talking about Pizza, Batman, Love&Hate Starbucks (we both used to work there) and the Beach Boys. Honestly, I’m fine with that with a full belly filled with pizza and beer.

pugs not drugs

The rest of my time here will be working on updating the website, marketing, designs (w/ aLeXa & Kyle), articles (w/the SDU crew), collaboration w/ Skyline Print Company and playing fetch with Monani my best friends pug.

( more pictures of my adventure in the Kingdom below…)

hanging with C.kirk art
kyle.pizza
neon
Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

1 comment

  1. All I can say is, thank you for not posting the pic you took of me on here.
    And just to clarify, I exposed him to Mediterranean food, but I am not from the Mediterranean.

    Like

Leave a Reply

