By Sundown &The United

Brenton  Black a.k.a. Mr. Blaq a.k.a Pieces of Blaq

In the winter of 2011, I meet a man on the social network web-o-sphere while working on the Sundown United Year One designs.  He became a fan of Sundown United on facebook. He liked many of the photos I was posting of all the behind the scenes work we were placing into our tee shirts. Taken a back with his interest with SDU so quickly, I decided to do the same and find out who Mr. Blaq was. I am glad I took the time to find out. My search of Mr. Blaq uncovered some great art pieces and hand-crafted jewelry that I loved.

Brenton D. Black

Brenton Black’s Pieces of Blaq is on the rise in D, he has told me he has a student type of mindset. The idea is always allowing one’s self to never stop learning and not fear the outcome. But honestly the way Mr. Blaq has conduct himself professionally and as a fearless artist, he’s on the fast track of a master-mind set. Blaq’s work is a stellar sight to look at, with great detail there is passion and hard work in each of his design pieces.

Brenton Black Creator of Pieces of Blaq Artist statement.

I believe no one can write their own bio, so I can introduce myself. Brenton Black (Blaq). Visual Artist and Student.  The name Blaq comes from my last name…spelled it a tad different to have some flavor and make it easier when adding my signature to art work.

Art in general has been a complete learning experience. Which is why I adopted the STUDENT OF EVERYTHING mindset. If I see something that sparks my interest I must learn it. Drawing came naturally in my youth, painting is relatively new. I would sketch out cartoons, athletes, cars, etc etc. I started posting it all to my old MySpace page and a friend introduced me to a guy from Chicago by the name of James Grady. We share the same kind of style but he told me to try painting in acrylic.

It took me a year or two to get around to it but I did. Within those two years I met a great artist by the name of Zach Saucedo. He took the time to show me the ropes, drop knowledge and show me technique. It’s been magical ever since. So naturally Zach inspires me. He in turn introduced me to Hatziel Flores, Ray Albererz and a few other cats from Dallas. Their work pushes me to try new bolder things. I’m also heavily influenced by KAWS, Kid Zoom, Ron English & Takashi Murakami simply for the graffiti/ cartoon/ fun art they make.

As far as the jewelry business, I started it because I didn’t like what I saw at the mall. The student kicked in and I learned to do it myself. Slowly people started buying from my personal collection of things made and Pieces of Blaq jewelry was born.

The journey has been trial and error. I recently pull all of my products from the site to start over fresh. I’m currently working with Appleavocado from my branding needs. I’m piecing the site together myself. I’m looking to be fully operational in the summer with jewelry, bags, hats, sunglasses and then scarves for the winter. All the while taking notes and continuing to create.

Learn more @ www.piecesofblaq.wordpress.com  & www.piecesofblaq.bigcartel.com 

Head to http://sundownunited.bigcartel.com/ to shop. Follow us on tumblr ,  Twitter  or join our Sundown United Facebook  page & Mailing List  to be informed of all our latest releases. Support your Independents. (Photos of Pieces of Blaq Continued below…)

http://www.sundownunited.com
Pieces of Blaq work
blaq work
student to mastermind set
the Blaq on Black Onyx and Lace Rock bracelet. Zach Saucedo (Blaq's mentor wore it for his wedding)
blaq on blaq Hello Kitty drying before a few more detail touches
pieces of blaq work in progress


Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

