By Chace Saumell 

Hope is like the sun, which, as we journey toward it, casts the shadow of our burden behind us.”
Samuel Smiles

Hope is a funny thing.

Hope is one of those words that we use all the time without ever really thinking about what it really means. Hope carries a lot of weight.

Everything in our life and our journey is constantly riding on hope, moving towards the hope of something.

The Bible says, “Hope deferred makes the heart sick” (Proverbs 13:12) which basically means when you don’t have hope or when what you hope to happen moves away from you, it makes you sick, heart sick.

I have spent a lot of my living on hope.

Hoping for love.

Hoping for health and happiness.

I have spent my life hoping for so many things that I never knew if I would actually get, but never losing hope because hope is all that I have. Hope was and sometimes still is the only thing that gets me through the day.

As many of you know, the past several years have been rough on me.

Sometimes not losing hope was the hardest part of all, but if you don’t have hope, what do you have? So I would hold on and hope because that’s all I could do.

The second part of the verse I mentioned above says, “… but a dream fulfilled is a tree of life”.

after the match

In the last few months so many of the things I have been hoping for have started to come into my life and while not everything in my life is perfect and things are still a lot of work, I feel like I have a breath of fresh air in my life now. I feel more complete and more loved and appreciated than I ever have.

It’s amazing to me how much better life feels when what you have hoped for so fervently comes to you.

I am so blessed and I’m soaking it all up as much as I can.

I know that typically I write about life struggles and working out and training and trust me, I do a lot of that still.

I’m still working through my knee injury. I’m still not quite 100% but I’m getting there.

When it comes to my crazy body issues and my mental view of myself, I’ll probably never get where I should be.

But things are looking up.

And I’m learning so much about myself and I’m enjoying every minute of it right now.

That which does not kill me, better start running. Because I’m feeling even stronger than ever these days.

Chace

Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

