undergrad life

By Brenton D. Black – DALLAS

pieces of blaq

Art in general has been a complete learning experience. Which is why I adopted the STUDENT OF EVERYTHING mindset. If I see something that sparks my interest I must learn it. Drawing came naturally in my youth, painting is relatively new. I would sketch out cartoons, athletes, cars, etc etc. I started posting it all to my old MySpace page and a friend introduced me to a guy from Chicago by the name of James Grady. We share the same kind of style but he told me to try painting in acrylic.

It took me a year or two to get around to it but I did. Within those two years I met a great artist by the name of Zach Saucedo. He took the time to show me the ropes, drop knowledge and show me technique. It’s been magical ever since.

So naturally Zach inspires me. He in turn introduced me to Hatziel Flores, Ray Albererz and a few other cats from Dallas. Their work pushes me to try new bolder things. I’m also heavily influenced by KAWS, Kid Zoom, Ron English & Takashi Murakami simply for the graffiti/ cartoon/ fun art they make.

the taste of…

I’m a small brand/artist/expert/super-hero/slash/slash/slash I’ve learned to take the student approach to all things. Hence the title on everything I do “STUDENT OF EVERYTHING”. From a small business stand point, to trying new things in art; taking notes and paying attention can make or break you.

Being a sponge at the right time can carry you very far. This mind set brought me back into the world of art, launched my accessories line, it also helps me humbly connect with my peers. Hopefully throught the platform Sundown United has given me, I will be able to learn, connect, grow and inspire. Not to mention support and push locals to create, give back, spread love and work together.

Undergrad
-Blaq

http://www.sundownunited.com – summer/fall series 2012 – Arriving Soon
Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

One comment

Leave a Reply

