By Chace Saumell – Sundown United // Dallas

“All human beings are also dream beings. Dreaming ties all mankind together.”
– Jack Kerouac

Sometimes I feel like chasing my dreams is a full time job.

Sometimes I feel like finding out what my dreams are can be a full time job too.

Sometimes I feel like the world does its best to break me down and make me into everyone else.

I don’t know if everyone thinks like me, but I feel like my life is several different compartments.

I am a mom.

I am a woman.

As a woman

I am a daughter.

I am a sister.

I am a friend.

I am an employee.

I am an athlete.

I am a writer.

If I went without any one of those layers of myself I wouldn’t be whole.

Within all of those different versions of myself, I have so many hopes and dreams.

Honestly, sometimes it gets confusing.

Sometimes my dreams in one area of my life can contradict my dreams in other areas and then I have to rethink my whole plan.

It’s as if all the things that I hope for and plan for are constantly evolving to make me a whole person.

prepare.

The problem with constantly evolving is that it’s exhausting and it makes planning a future almost impossible. Because you truly never know what unexpected wrinkle you will encounter from day to day. And that is an amazing thing.

If I look back on myself at 18 and where I thought I would be at this point in my life, I don’t think I could even imagine this point in my life. The person that I am now didn’t exist then. And that, to me, is a miraculous event because while I am not where I thought I would be, I have had experiences and met friends and made tragically marvelous mistakes that have changed the world. Ok, maybe not changed the whole world, but at least my little community.

Chasing your dreams is like running a lifelong marathon where you aren’t concerned with pacing yourself. Instead you run with unbridled passion towards your goals. It’s the hardest fight you’ll ever have to fight.

It requires sacrifice without sacrificing your goal. It requires being flexible without compromising the core of yourself. It requires falling down and picking yourself up again. It requires everything you have. But in return it will be more than you ever expected.

Grrrrl fight!

At least that’s what I’m hoping for. My dreams are still in the making and in a way I know that they always will be because I’ll never stop dreaming no matter how far I go and what I attain. Every now and then I catch a glimpse of how awesome my dreams fulfilled will be and it gives me the courage to keep going.

That which doesn’t kill me, better start running.

Chace

http://www.sundownunited.com/store
Written by The Sundown United

The SUNDOWN UNITED is a multi-faceted project that houses an apparel and accessories brand, and online-magazine(weblogs/articles). All ends of and begins with the Sundown United our trademark, lifestyle, attitude, and personal perspective on Americana art/lifestyle subculture.

Leave a Reply

